Gangtok, 20 Aug:

People from different parts of the State congregated in Gangtok today to join the rally called by Concerned Sikkimese in pursuit of its demand for re-verification of Sikkim Subject Certificates/ Certificates of Identification and the institution of proper checks and balances to guard against issuance of these documents to bogus claimants.

The rally started from Titanic Park and ended at Bhanu Park and was joined by leaders and representatives from different political parties and social organizations and general public.

Speaking on the occasion, Concerned Sikkimese chief coordinator, Tshering Wangchuk Lepcha, reiterated that this was an apolitical rally which was above party politics. The rally was solely in the interest of Sikkim and Sikkimese, he stressed.

He stated that Sikkim Subject Certificates were a unique identity of the Sikkimese people and hence needed to be protected. He added that Sikkimese people need to be protected well to protect others in the State. He also thanked people for showing up in such strong numbers for the rally.

Thukchuk Lachungpa, who also addressed the gathering, underlined that the rally was not planned against anyone or section and that it should be seen as solely in the interest of Sikkim and its people.

Similarly, SIBLAC convener, Tseten Tashi Bhutia, appealed to the young to study and understand Article 371F of the Constitution of India so that they could ensure its sanctity. He also echoed that the rally was organized to protect the future generations of Sikkim.

He added that the rally was also to register gratitude and support for the PIL filed by Biraj Adhikari and Delay Namgyal Barfungpa against fake SSC/ COI in the interest of all Sikkimese people.

SNPP leader, Biraj Adhikari, who has taken the matter to Court, expressed his gratitude to the people for their display of support for the issue taken up by him and stressed that the presence of fake and fraudulently acquired SSC/COI was a genuine and serious issue.

The gathering was also addressed by TN Dhakal, Deo Kumar Pradhan, Passang Sherpa and Dewakar Basnet.