Sanjay Agarwal conferred Ram Patro Memorial Award

Gangtok, 24 May:

Freelance journalist based out of Rangpo, East Sikkim, Sanjay Agarwal was conferred the Ram Patro Memorial Award for Excellence in Journalism in a function held at Gangtok today.

Sub-Editor, Himali Bela, Arjun Piyush was awarded the ‘Best Working Journalist in Sikkim Express and Himali Bela for 2017-18’. The award was received on behalf of Mr Piyush by his daughter.

Technical head, Sikkim Express, OP Chettri was also felicitated for his hard work and dedication.

Sanjay Agarwal in his speech thanked the Ram Patro Memorial Award Committee for conferring him with the award.

“The recognition has motivated me to work more and contribute towards the betterment of the State,” he said.

He also announced to donate his eyes after his death and urged everyone to contribute in the eye donation mission and help blind people.

Sanjay Agarwal is a 44-year-old freelance journalist. He has contributed reports and articles to several newspapers including Sikkim Express and online news outlet, Voice of Sikkim.

Tourism & Civil Aviation Minister, Ugen T Gyatso Bhutia who attended the function as chief guest congratulated the publishers of Sikkim Express and Himali Bela for taking forward the legacy of Late Ram Patro. He also congratulated the awardees and wished them best for their future endeavors.

Speaking on the Chief Minister’s State-wide tour he said that the CM’s dedication for the people of Sikkim is highly commendable.

He further urged the media to fulfill its responsibility to the society.

Talking about the record breaking flow of tourists in the State, the Minister informed that Sikkim is looking to get 20 lakh tourists this year.

“Sikkim is filled with tourists. They are even in remote places of the State,” he added.

Political Editor, Hindustan Times, Vinod Sharma spoke about the role of media towards the society and the challenges faced by free media due to compulsion of generating revenue through advertisements.

Editor, Sikkim Express, Amit Patro presented the welcome speech and talked about the annual Ram Patro Memorial Award.

The function was also attended by Ram Patro Memorial Award Committee chairperson, CD Rai, Publisher, Himali Bela, Mala Rana Patro, media fraternity and other guests.