Ongmit Abhilasha Memorial Debate Competition held

Gangtok, 26 Jun:

Heimakarna Sancharani Memorial Trust, Tharpu, West Sikkim in collaboration Tharpu Senior Secondary School conducted the 02nd Ongmit Abhilasha Memorial Debate Competition cum Scholarship Commendation programme today at Tharpu, a press release informs.

Minister for Human Resource Development Department, RB Subba who is also the chief patron of Heimakarna Sancharani Memorial Trust attended the function as the chief guest.

Advisor [Health Department], Dr AD Subba along with principals from different schools and colleges, teachers, department officials, local residents and panchayats attended the programme.

Principal, Tharpu SSS, Narandra Chettri in his address informed that the Trust aims to create a healthy competition in education accomplishment amongst the students. He also presented a brief report of Tharpu SSS.

Mr Subba, while addressing the gathering, said that the Trust aims to make a healthy society with healthy competition amongst the students. He further said that the Trust brings societies, schools and educators under one roof.

Talking about the development works at Soreng Chakung constituency he talked about the establishment of B.Ed College, Science College and the upcoming Veterinary College at Soreng Chakung constituency.

Informing the gathering about the achievements of Heimakarna Sancharani Memorial Trust, Mr Subba said that the toppers benefitted under the Trust have become engineers, doctors and officers.

“The world today needs skilled and well-educated youth and Sikkim Government has done that for us,” he added.

The Trust also felicitated school toppers of the constituency.

The Meritorious Award for Excellent Performance was awarded to Lalita Chettri from Soreng Senior Secondary School for excelling in the CBSE examination.

The Trust also awarded certificates to Binu Chettri and Patila Subba of Tharpu SSS.

Magazine on Late Hemakarna Sancharani and Subba Memorial Trust was also released on the occasion.

In the 02nd Ongmit Abhilasha Memorial Debate Competition, Tharpu SSS beat Sombaria SSS to clinch the trophy.