JAC files fresh petition for disqualification of 7 SKM MLAs

Gangtok, 28 Jun:

The Joint Action Committee [JAC] has filed a fresh petition to the Speaker of Sikkim Legislative Assembly for the disqualification of seven former Sikkim Krantikari Morcha MLAs who later defected to Sikkim Democratic Front in 2015. The petition has been signed by Pahalman Subba, Nawin Kiran Pradhan and Tshering Wangchuk Lepcha and was submitted to the Secretary of SLA today.

It may be mentioned that the previous petition had been rejected by the Speaker on the basis of some technical errors like the lack of signatures of all petitioners.

Addressing a press conference after submitting the memorandum, Mr Pradhan said that the recent judgment of the High Court was historic and now any person can file a memorandum for disqualification under the anti-defection law while earlier only MLAs could file this memorandum.

“We have submitted the memorandum along with all relevant documents through the Secretary of the State Assembly. It was clear defection and we have faith that the Speaker will disqualify them at the earliest. It is a constitutional matter so we hope that the Speaker will take the right decision without any bias,” he expressed.

Mr Pradhan mentioned that the JAC will wait for a month and submit a reminder in case no response from the Speaker is received.

“In case of dissatisfactory decision the legal doors are still open for us. But we will pursue this case till the end even after the completion of the tenure of these seven MLAs to set an example so that others do not breach the trust of the people,” he said.

He also urged political parties to be active on such matters in the interest of the people of Sikkim.