18 new ECI-approved polling stations created in Sikkim

Gangtok, 06 Sept:

Under Section 25 of the Representation of People Act 1951, the District Electoral Officer is required to provide sufficient numbers of Polling Stations for every constituency. As per instructions of Election Commission of India, number of voters for a polling station in rural areas should not exceed 1200 and for polling station located in urban area, number of voters should not exceed 1400.

A press release issued by Election Department, Government of Sikkim informs that with prior approval of the ECI, 18 new polling stations have been created after consultation with all political parties.

Out of the 18 polling stations, 08 polling stations in East district, 03 polling stations in West district, 06 in South district and 01 in North district has been created increasing the total number of polling stations from 549 to 567.

The final list of names of polling stations after rationalization are published and put up on the notice of the office of the District Electoral Officer and respective polling stations for information of the public.