Sikkim team’s Milind among All-Time Top-5 run scorers of Ranji Trophy Season


Milind Kumar, wearing Sikkim’s colors, secured a place in the All-Time Top 5 run-scorers in a Ranji Trophy Season today after scoring 117 runs in the first innings and 127 not-out in second innings against Meghalaya in Round 8 of a Plate Division Ranji Trophy match played at KIITS Cricket Stadium, Bhubaneswar, Odisha.

He beat Wasim Jaffer’s record of 1,260 runs in a season by a run and finds himself in fifth position. VVS Laxman is leading with 1,415 runs, Shreyas Iyer (1,321), Priyank Panchal (1,310), Vijay Bharadwaj (1,280), Milind Kumar (1261). Milind is 154 runs short from breaking all past records with one more match to play before the Ranji Trophy Season ends for Sikkim.

So far, Sikkim has played seven matches and won three, one drawn and lost three matches with Milind scoring 261 against Manipur, 224 against Nagaland, 133 against Uttarakhand, 13 & 13 against Bihar, 96 & 77* against Puducherry, 139 against Mizoram and 117 & 127* against Meghalaya.

“I would like to thank Sikkim Cricket Association for giving me the opportunity to represent the State in Ranji Trophy Season of 2018-19 and am happy that I am being able to deliver what they expected of me. My only target in each match is to be on the crease for as long as I can, build a partnership and make maximum runs. I am happy to be in the top five of most runs in Ranji Trophy Season list,” says Milind Kumar.

Sikkim managed to draw its match against Meghalaya today with decent batting from the players where Captain Nilesh Lamichaney scoring 70 runs, Ashish Thapa (43), Milind Kumar (127*) and Karma Thinlay (14*).

It was Milind and Karma who took the match to the end with Sikkim scoring 304/4 in the second innings where Meghalaya took an innings lead and shared the point Sikkim (1) and Meghalaya (3).

With this, Sikkim earned 20 points and is standing in 5th place of Plate Division Points table, ahead of Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Mizoram, and Nagaland.

Sikkim will be playing its last match of Ranji Trophy Season 2018-19 on 07 Jan, 2018 at DN Singha Stadium, Goalpara, Assam.