SKM announces 3 more candidates

Gangtok, 19 Mar:

Sikkim Krantikari Morcha today released its second list of candidates for the upcoming Assembly elections in the State.

The parliamentary board of SKM has decided on Bishnu Kumar Khatiwada for Rhenock constituency in East Sikkim, Arun Upreti for Arithang constituency in East Sikkim and Sanjit Kharel for Namthang-Rateypani constituency in South Sikkim, an SKM press release informs.

SKM, it may be recalled had won from Rhenock and Arithang constituencies in 2014 only to have the MLAs eventually switch sides to the SDF.

As for Namthang Rateypani, the SKM president, PS Tamang [Golay], had contested from this constituency in 2014 and lost to SDF’s Tilu Gurung.

SKM’s first list had announced candidates for nine constituencies so it now has 12 official candidates in the fray.