SKM releases third list, 13 constituencies left

Gangtok, 22 Mar:

Sikkim Krantikari Morcha on Thursday released its third list of Assembly election candidates. This list of candidates for seven constituencies still leaves 13 constituencies for which the party has not yet declared candidates. The party declared candidates for nine constituencies in its first list and then three in the second list.

As per the list released on Holi, Kunga Nima Lepcha, the party’s sitting MLA from Syari, will also be contesting from Gangtok, the constituency which posted SKM’s strongest victory in 2014.

Tshering Bhutia has received the SKM ticket for Gnathong Machong, while Danish Rai has been named for Namcheybong, Samdup Tshering Bhutia for Tumin-Lingee, Phurba Tshering Bhutia for Rinchenpong and Karma Loday Bhutia for Kabi-Lungchok from where SKM had won in 2014.

Sources in the SKM inform that final list will be released on Saturday. This list will interesting as much for the names it contains as for the names left out. All eyes will be on where the SKM president, PS Tamang [Golay], contests from. The party, it may be recalled, has remained insistent that he will be able to contest the elections despite his conviction in a corruption case. Also, the party has not yet announced candidates for Mr Tamang’s traditional seat, Soreng-Chakung, or Upper Burtuk from where he has won the past two elections.