Dr.Shova Kanti Thegim Lepcha Memorial Award to Rita Thakuri

Gangtok, 04 Jul:

The 22nd edition of DrShovaKantiThegim Lepcha Memorial Award was held at TashiNamgyal Senior Secondary school auditorium today. The event was chaired by Chief Minister, PS Tamang [Golay] as chief guest along with KiranRasaily, DrPushpa Sharma, DT Lepcha, president SobhaKantiThegim Trust along with various other artists, ex awardees and litterateurs.

This year’s DrShovaKantiThegim Lepcha Memorial Award went to Rita Thakuri for her book "KolahalBhitrakaSpandan".

TR Khanal, Ratna Kamal Dewan, Sanu Lama, LensinghYonzon, Dharni Kumar Pradhan, BB Nuringa, PT Dong, DevakiRai, DevikaRai, Santa Maya Limboo, ZigmiTenzingGyaltshen and Dawa Lama were also honoured by the trust for their immense contribution in the field of art, literature and music.

The event kicked off with the ceremonial lamp lighting ceremony in memory of MsThegim followed by a mourning session for Late Ratna Kamal Dewan and former Governor, SudarshanAgarwal.

The trust proudly welcomes all the ex awardees and the present awardees with grace and gratitude, the idea of MrsThegims.

Chief Minister, MrTamangexpressed his gratitude towards the trust for honouring the forgotten gems of the state and also spoke about the immense contribution served by the awardees and ex awardees.

The event included performances by local artists and composers while Saurav Lepcha launched three new compositions from his upcoming album.