Govt orders ‘temporary closure’ of 25 Primary Schools

July 18, 2019

Gangtok, 17 Jul:

The State Government today ordered the temporary closure of 25 government primary schools with immediate effect.

A notification issued by the Human Resource Development Department explains that the closures are being ordered “consequent upon extremely low and in some cases nil student enrolment” at these schools.

Students of these schools will now be transferred to nearby schools and the movable assets distributed to “needy schools on discretion of district authority.”

The immovable government properties pertaining to these scholls are to be handed over to the Gram Panchayats on “suitable terms and conditions.”

The affected government primary schools are: Borong, Rockland, Sotak, 10th Mile [East Sikkim], Taksang, Upper Linzey, Pheedang, Tanek, Longbu, Tadong [North district], Theng, Simkharka, Sumbuk, Singtam Pallum, Bul, Cham Gaon, Khutidara, Barabotey [West Sikkim], Rungdu, Anden, Nasa, Taerybhir, Chojo, Lamathing, and Mantabong.

The notification, signed by the Additional Chief Secretary GP Upadhyaya does not say what happens to the staff of the affected schools.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Please reload