Nawin Kiran petitions Speaker seeking disqualification of 12 SDF MLAs on grounds of defection

August 31, 2019

Gangtok, 30 Aug:

Sikkim Subject Committee vice-convener, Nawin Kiran Pradhan, has filed a petition with the Speaker, Sikkim Legislative Assembly, seeking disqualification of the 12 SDF MLAs who recently defected from their party and joined the BJP. He expressed hope that the Speaker will take up the matter and give his decision at the earliest and put an end to this political trend of defections in Sikkim.

Mr Pradhan submitted the 11-page petition accompanied by advocate S Chatterjee from Kolkata.

The petition has been filed against former SDF MLAs, Narendra Kumar Subba, Karma Sonam Lepcha, Tashi Thendup Bhutia, Farwanti Tamang, Raj Kumari Thapa, Ugen T Gyatso Bhutia, Krishna Bahadur Rai, Dorjee Tshering Lepcha, Dilli Ram Thapa and Pintso Namgyal Lepcha, who have now joined Bharatiya Janata Party on 13 August at Delhi, and also against former SDF MLAs, Em Prasad Sharma and Gay Tshering Dhungel, who joined Sikkim Krantikari Morcha on 14 August.

The petition argues that these MLAs were liable to be disqualified under Article 191 (2) read with Paragraph 2 (1)(a) of the Constitution of India.

Mr Pradhan has prayed that appropriate proceedings be initiated against the 12.

Speaking to media persons after filing the petition, Mr Pradhan also informed that the matter of the defection of seven former SKM MLAs in the last term was still pending in the Assembly.

“The defection is also an attempt to break down and change the political demography of the State because this is the State which has from beginning seen only local regional parties in the power and opposition in the State,” Mr Chatterjee said.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

January 21, 2020

January 20, 2020

Please reload