12 Sikkimese in India team for International Strength Lifting C’ship

GANGTOK, 06 Feb:

It is a proud moment again for the State as 12 strength lifters from Sikkim have been selected to represent the country in the 8th International Strength Lifting & Inclined Bench Press Championship 2020 to be held from 13 to 17 February at Bangkok in Thailand.

They were shortlisted for the national team on the basis of their performance in the recently held 29th Senior and Master National Strength Lifting Championship 2019 from 25 to 28 December at Udaipur, Rajasthan.

The selected strength lifters from Sikkim are PemaDorjee Bhutia, Ram DhojRai, Kishore Dungmali Rai, Santosh Gupta, Chandra Kumar Chettri, Bhim Raj Gurung, HomnathSiwakoti, Kalpana Chettri, Manisha Tewari, Madhu Mahal Majhi, EduTshering Bhutia and PempaTamang. It is debut for MadhuMahalMajhi, Chandra Kumar Chettri, Bhim Raj Gurung, ManishaTewari, KisohreDungmaliRai and Ram DhojRai in the international competition.

These strength lifters are part of a 67-member India team in this international championship.

In a small function held here at White Hall complex on Thursday, Sikkim Strength Lifting Association [SSLA] executive members offered khadas and expressed their best wishes to all selected lifters from the state.

In his address, SSLA general secretary,SonamTshering Bhutia congratulated them for getting such a big opportunity to represent the country in a prestigious international level championship. While expressing his best wishes, he stated that it was a proud moment for SSLA that Sikkimese strength lifters have been representing the country continuously in the international competitions.

Likewise, SSLA chief coach, PemaDorjee Bhutia expressed that all lifters are in high spirits and confident of winning medals and laurels for the State and the country in this international championship.

He thanked the SSLA for supporting and encouraging local lifters for national and international levels. The State lifters are scheduled to leave on 10 Feb to join the national team at Kolkata and then on will fly to Bangkok for the championship on 12 Feb.