Lingtam Sec School organizes Virtual Talent Show 2020

Gangtok, 22 Sept:

With an aim to provide platform to the hidden talents of rural areas, a constituency level Virtual Talent Show, 2020, organized by School Managing Committee (SMC) of Government Secondary School, Lingtam, EastSikkim came to an end on 21 Sept, 2020.

The show aimed to connect with students during this time of isolation amidst the COVID-19 pandemic, a press release informs.

The show was conceived and initiated by the SMC member, Dorjee Sherpa Pinasa. As per MrSherpa, the SMC decided to give children a platform to showcase their talents as the schools are shut and students are not utilizing their time properly.

The show which started on 22 Aug had the participation of more than 100 contestants and after one month of selection process it has finally come to an end on 21 Sept, 2020 on the occasion of World Peace Day.

MD of RiyaazSangitalaya from Gangtok, ManojRai, Director & Choreographer of Twist Your Toe Dance Academy from Daramdin, SushmaYonzon, Renowned Actor of Kollywood film industry from Sikkim, Timothy Rai and Model/Actress and MD of Shriaadi Entertainment Company from Pakyong, Januka Sharma Rizal were the judges of the show.

The show was divided into three rounds viz: Preliminary Round, Gala Round and the Finale Round.

In senior category the winners are; ArpanaChettri from Class XI, Chujachen Senior Secondary School in 1st position, AnjuGurung from Class X, Dalapchand Sec School in 2nd position, and AakritiPradhan from Class VIII, ChujachenSr Sec School in 3rd position.Winners were awarded with cash reward of Rs. 10,000, Rs6000 and Rs3000 respectively along with certificate.

Similarly, KritikaGurung from Lingtam Sec School, RoshniGurung from ChujachenSr Sec School, Anisha Sharma from ChujachenSr Sec School, Sneha Manger from Lingtam Sec School, PriyankaTamang from Lingtam Sec School won the consolation prizes.

In junior category the winners are;HimakshiDawari from Class III, St Mary’s School, Sungdungin 1st position,Rizongla Sherpa from Class IV, Nimachen Primary School in 2nd position, and Anjali Rai from Class IV, Rainbow Elementary School, Dalapchandin 3rd position.

The winners were awarded with cash reward of Rs. 9000, Rs5000 and Rs3000 respectively along with certificate.

Similarly, Trinesh&Arina from Bethal Academy, Mulukey, AkankshaGurung from Posakey Primary School, PriyanshaGurung from Bosko English School, Lingtam, NehaSubba from Bethal Academy, Mulukey and Choden Sherpa from Lingtam Sec School won consolation prizes.

The organizing committee thanked all the supporters who sponsored the prizes. They also thanked ShabnumGolay, Headmistress of the school for her support along with teachers of the school, SMC Members and the parents of the participants.

Organizers also thanked SKM Area In-Charge, DamberPradhan and Panchayat Vice-President, NimTenjee Sherpa for their support.