AGEY Vehicles handed over to 14 SHGs of Sikkim by CM

Gangtok, 20 Oct (IPR): Chief Minister, Prem Singh Tamang handed over the 14 Ajeevika Grameen Express Yojana [AGEY] Vehicles under the Ajeevika Grameen Express Yojana (AGEY)/National Rural Livelihood Mission to the Self-Help Groups (SHGs) of South and West Districts, in a programme organised by the State Rural Livelihood Mission, Rural Development Department (RDD) at Tashiling Secretariat, Gangtok today.

The programme was attended by Minister RDD, Sonam Lama, Principal Secretary Home, R Telang, Principal Secretary RDD, CS Rao, Commissioner RDD, Dr P Senthil Kumar, Secretary to CM, SD Dhakal, Heads of Departments, Officials and dignitaries.

The HCM while handing over the AGEY vehicles to the beneficiaries also interacted with them and urged them to work hard and make optimum use of the benefits given to them by the Government. He also congratulated all the 14 SHG members who received the vehicles. He further motivated the SHG members to utilize the vehicles provided them to enhance their income generating capabilities.

The objective of the AGEY scheme is to provide an alternative source of livelihood to the members of SHGs by facilitating them to operate public transport services in backward rural areas and to provide safe, affordable and community monitored rural transport services to connect remote villages with key services and amenities.

During the programme, a total of 14 AGEY vehicles were handed over to the SHGs of West and South Districts of Sikkim namely Chumbong SHG Federation, Moon SHG Federation, Sangkhu Radhu Khandu SHG Federation 2, Yambung SHG Federation, Bermiok Berthang SHG Federation B, Timburbong SHG Federation, Melli-Aching Federation, Salghari GPU SHG Federation, Nizrameng SHG Federation, Borong Phaamthang SHG Federation, Wok Omchu SHG Federation, Sadam Ravitar SHG Federation, Ben Namprick SHG and Lingmoo Payong SHG Federation 1.

The programme also saw the Certificates being handed over by the Chief Minister and Minister to the Best Performing Banks and Self Help Groups. The certificate for the Best Performing Bank was handed over to SISCO Bank. While, the Best Performing Self Help Group was presented to Skystar SHG, Khamdong (National Awardee) and Jagriti SHG, Pakyong (State Awardee). Likewise, Sirwani Ward Development Society (WDS) was presented the Best Performing WDS and Duga Block as the Best Transaction Based Digital Accounting System (TBDAS).

Later, the Chief Minister and Minister along with all Officials flagged off the AGEY vehicles to their respective areas.