7 of 53 wards go uncontested


Gangtok, 09 Mar: Seven candidates across five municipal bodies of Sikkim have

been won uncontested in the upcoming Municipal elections. This is not necessarily the final

score of uncontested wards since more could end up with only one candidate in the fray after 11 March, the last date for withdrawal of nomination papers. There are eight municipal wards in Sikkim which have only two contestants in the fray at present – five out of 29 wards in East, two of the five in Mangan, and three of the 12 municipal wards in South Sikkim. The number of uncontested wards was nine in the last municipal elections held in Sikkim in 2015 when the total number of wards was two lower at 51. This was a marked improvement of the first municipal polls held here in 2010 when 44 of the 47 municipal wards in the State had been bagged by uncontested by the party in office at the time. This is the first time that political parties have been kept out of the municipal elections in Sikkim. In Gangtok Municipal Corporation, Karma Tempo Rapgyal from Arithang-I, a ward reserved for ST, and Sabita Pradhan from Deorali- Upper Syari, an OBC Women reserved ward, will join the GMC uncontested. In North Sikkim, Norkit Lepcha for Pentok [reserved for ST Women] under Mangan Nagar Panchayat is uncontested.

In West Sikkim, Rinzing Bhutia for Kyongsa ward [ST] under Gyalshing Nagar Panchayat has no opponents either, while in South district, Pabitra Kumar Sharma for Daragaon [OBC-State] under Naya-Bazaar Jorethang Panchayat is uncontested. Also in South, Janga Bahadur Rai for Purano Namchi [OBC Central] and Mamta Kalikotey in Lower Ghurpisey [SC Women] under Namchi Municipal Council are uncontested.