CM meets and congratulates meritorious students selected for CMMSS

Gangtok, 04 Apr [IPR]: Chief Minister Prem Singh Tamang graced the Counselling-cum-Allotment of seats (2022) for the Chief Minister's Scholarship Scheme here at Biraspati Parsai Government Senior Secondary School, Marchak, Ranipool today.

The event was organized by the Education Department, Government of Sikkim.

The Chief Minister's Scholarship Scheme is a unique educational scheme that was initiated to cater to Sikkimese students studying in Government schools. A total number of 1,047 students have merited from this scheme as of now.

A total number of fifty-five students from thirteen schools (five belonging to the Schedule-Tribe community) in Sikkim were selected for the allotment of seats. The names of the schools and the number of allotted seats are as follows:

1) Don Bosco School, Soreng (West)- 8

2) Manjusri Public School, Tarku (South)- 5

3) Namchi Public School, Namchi (South)- 8

4) Paljor Namgyal Girls Senior Secondary School, Gangtok- 5

5) St. Joseph School, Martam (East)- 6

6) St. Mary's Convent (Geyzing)- 6

7) St. Xavier's School, Pakyong (East)-

8) Tashi Namgyal Academy, Gangtok (East)- 5

The names of the schools and the number of allotted seats reserved for Scheduled Tribe are:

9) Lingzya Junior High School, Dzongu (North)- 1

10) Gor Senior Secondary School, Dzongu (North)- 1

11) Hee Gyathang Senior Secondary School, Dzongu (North)- 1

12) Salim Pakyel Junior High School, Dzongu (North)- 1

13) Lingkoo Primary School, Dzongu (North)- 1

It is to be noted that two differently-abled students were also chosen for the scheme.

During the program, students were felicitated with khadas by the Chief Minister. Two students under the Chief Minister's Merit Scholarship Scheme also shared their experience under the programme.

The Education Minister in his speech presented a brief review of the CMMSS scheme and appreciated the efforts of the parents, teachers, and officials of the Education Department for their constant support of the students.

Likewise, he said that these schemes will support the students to face challenges in the modern world and improve the quality of education throughout the State. He stressed on three things that will cement the quality of education which are Teacher training, infrastructure improvement, and implementation of National Education Policy 2020. In the end, he wished success to the students for their future.

The Chief Minister in his address extended congratulations to the students conferred with Chief Minister's Merit Scholarship Scheme and the Education Department. He said that a new model school in Assam Lingzey, East Sikkim is on verge of completion, with the best infrastructural facilities and qualified faculties selected among the best teachers available in the state and with high tech facilities of international standard to ensure rich academic facilities.

He mentioned that the state government has accorded topmost priority to the Education Sector with the commensurable allocation of budget to ensure that the children are well prepared to face the challenges of the modern world.

Various initiatives have been adopted to improve qualitative education in order to impart new schemes in academics, training teachers, infrastructural development, and ensure the implementation of NEP 2020, he added.

The CM informed that the State Government has increased the number of seats from 50 to 55 with an additional 5 seats for students from the Dzongu area. Similarly, he mentioned that Miss Diki Choden Bhutia of Ramthang, North Sikkim who is a recipient of a CMMSS and a student of Scindia Kanya Vidyala, Gwalior was selected for a full scholarship to study at the Queen Mary University in London for a BSc. in Psychology for 2020 session.

The CM encouraged the students studying under CMMSS to draw inspiration from her and strive to accomplish their milestones in the days to come.

The Chief Minister was accompanied by Education Minister Kunga Nima Lepcha, Minister, Agriculture, Horticulture and Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Services, IPR and Printing& Stationery Department, Lok Nath Sharma, Minister of Public Health Engineering and Water Security, Bhim Hang Limboo, MLA Namchaybong Constituency, Em Prasad Sharma, MLA, Martam-Rumtek Constituency, Sonam Venchungpa, Additional Chief Secretary, Education Department, G.P. Upadhyaya, Secretary, Education Department, Anil Raj Rai, officers of Education Department, Chairman and Advisors, Principals, teachers, and students.