No nominations in East, South and North on first day

Gangtok, 01 Mar (IPR): The Municipal Election Returning Officer (MERO) East, Ragul K informed that no nominations have been filed at the office of Municipal Returning Officer, East on the first day of filing

nomination for Municipal Election 2021. All the arrangements for receiving nominations have been done at the office of Municipal Returning Officer East. As informed, the deployment of security personnel has been made for smooth functioning of the electoral process. Public Notice of Election under Rule 22 of

the Conduct of Election Rules in the form 17 has been issued on the first day of filing nomination. As per Notification No 07/SEC/2021 dated 01 Mar, 2021 issued from the State Election Commission, Sikkim nominations will be accepted till 3.00pm of 08 Mar, 2021. The scrutiny of nomination will be on 09 March

and withdrawal of candidature will be done till 11 Mar, 2021. The poll shall, if necessary be taken on 31 Mar, 2021. With the issuance of the above Notification, the Model Code of Conduct in all the Municipal

area has come into force from 01 Mar, 2021. Further, the State Election Commission under Article 243ZA of the Constitution of India has appointed the following officers of the State Government as Election Observers to oversee the election process and for the smooth conduct of Elections. Secretary Social Justice and Welfare Department, Tshewang Gyachho has been appointed for all wards of

Gangtok Municipal Corporation (East District). Secretary Excise Department, Kuber Bhandari for all wards of Rangpo and Singtam Nagar Panchayat( East District). No nominations were filed in South Sikkim as well, as per the Municipal Returning Officer (South), M Bharani Kumar. In South District two

Urban Local Bodies will be going for Municipal Election i.e. Namchi Municipal Council and Naya-Bazar Jorethang Nagar Panchayat. Under Namchi Municipal Council there are a total of 07 wards which are Gangyap, Dambudara, Upper Ghurpisey, Lower Ghurpisey, Upper Boomtar, Upper Singhithang and Purano Namchi. Similarly, under Naya-Bazar Jorethang Nagar Panchayat there are 05 wards namely Shantinagar, Trikaleshwar, Daragaon, Majhigaon and Nayabazar. It may be mentioned that the total number of voters in Namchi Municipal Council and Naya-Bazar Jorethang Nagar Panchayat are 6787 and 5630, respectively. North Sikkim too saw no nominations being filed today, according to the Municipal Returning Officer.