Sikkim thrashes Manipur by 8 wickets


Gangtok, 25 Feb: The Senior Men’s Cricket Team of Sikkim thrashed Manipur by 8 wickets and registered their first win today in the Vijay Hazare Trophy at, IC-Gurunanak College Ground, Chennai. This was the Sikkim team’s third match in the tourney. As per a press release, Manipur won the

toss and elected to bat first. In the first innings, they were all-out for 162 runs in 40.1 overs. Anureet

Singh and Md Saptula took 3 wickets each, Anwesh Karan Sharma took 2 wickets and Varun

Sood took 1 wicket. Md Saptula built the pressure on the opponent from the beginning by breaking the opening partnership and sending both the opening pairs back to the pavilion. In the second innings,

Sikkim gave a good start. Ashish Thapa scored 43 runs, Robin Bist 85 not-out, Nilesh Lamichaney 14 runs and Varun Sood remained not-out at 5 runs. Sikkim won the match in 36.1 overs by 8 wickets and gained 4 point(s) for the win. Sikkim will be playing a total of 5 matches in the tournament and they will be playing against Assam on 27 Feb at the same venue.